Beginner: approaches for package API discovery (eg. react)

Hi, I’m new to both ReScript and React, and excited to finally try React in a pragmatic functional setting. (Coming from a background of extensive experience with both Vue and Elm.)

I’ve just started playing around with a counter app and thought I’d try introducing an input field, but got stuck with the onInput handler. I have a specific question about this, but also one about the recommended general approach for discovering/learning the API for ReScript packages.

So my specific problem is simply that onInput expects ReactEvent.Form.t => unit, and I don’t know how to get the input element’s value out of ReactEvent.Form.t for use with a useState update function. The example from React’s docs has e => updateFoo(e.target.value), so I tried this but evidently ReactEvent.Form.t is not a record.

My next step was to look for the ReScript React API docs but I can find nothing beyond the (very useful) guide on rescript-lang.org. I gather that there is no central mechanism for package documentation, equivalent to Haddock or package.elm-lang.org. So I had a look in the rescript-react repo and found this in ReactEvent.resi:

module Form: {
  @get external target: t => {..} = "target"
}

That at least got me as far as realising that I should access target via a function. As for its return type, I was stumped. Eventually I guessed that it might be an object, and finally arrived at ReactEvent.Form.target(e)["value"] which compiles.

So my specific question: what is this {..} syntax? Is it explained anywhere in the language docs?

And my more general question: what workflow could I have followed to arrive at the right answer here? Am I correct that there’s no standard documentation mechanism? For a package with no API docs, is my best bet to read .resi files?