Dealing with collections of a generic type

I’m new to rescript and almost certainly missing a core concept here, so hopefully I can explain this in a way that makes sense. When dealing with a generic type if I want to store it in a collection I have to make a variant wrapper to unify all the generic types, otherwise the collection won’t be homogenous. Take this example code:

//a generic type
type foo<'a> = {value: 'a}
//all of the variants of said generic type that will be used in practice
type anyFoo = IntFoo(foo<int>) | StrFoo(foo<string>)

//create an instnace of the generic type
let makeFoo = val => {value: val}

let bar = makeFoo("asdf")
let baz = makeFoo(123)
let test = IntFoo(baz)
let test2 = StrFoo(bar)

//to make a list of any kind of foo we need to use the variant instead of the generic so it's homogenous
let listOfFoo = list{test, test2}

//...but how do you unwrap it again back into the actual type? This isn't allowed.
//I would think the compiler could easily infer it here but multiple return types are not allowed
//This seems to imply that once you wrap a type in a variant you can only get it back out by pattern matching
//the entire variant at every usage site?
let toFoo = (a: anyFoo) => {
  switch a {
  | IntFoo(v) => v
   //not ok, expected int but got string
  | StrFoo(v) => v
  }
}

Per the comments what I’m failing to understand is how to get the value out of the variant since a function can’t return multiple types. I’m probably using the wrong pattern here, but so far I don’t see how else to make a collection of heterogeneous types. It seems like the only way is to do an exhaustive pattern match at every usage site. What am I missing here?

1 Like