Interested in ReScript until I read async/await docs

This feels like deal breaker to me. Is there any work being done to address this?

The usual recommendation is to just try it out and see how it works in practice. Usually it works really well especially because of ReScript’s excellent type inference and fast compilation. My half-joke recommendation: alias the Promise.resolve and Promise#then functions to get ‘poor man’s async/await’:

let async = Js.Promise.resolve
let await = (p, f) => Js.Promise.then_(f, p)

prom->await(res => {
  Js.log(res)
  async(res)
})
3 Likes

I dont agree.
What is it about async await that you need?

So I have never used ReScript before, but am a long time Javascript developer. ReScript looks great as I’m reading the docs, then I stumble on this page.

so what I’m getting here, again as a newbie is

" There is currently no support for async and await keywords in ReScript"

so I’m thinking “no syntactic sugar for this, like in JS, so it’s promise chaining, or callback hell”, This page doesn’t give any examples, it just links to https://github.com/ryyppy/rescript-promise#usage which lets be honest looks super ugly, So again, as someone just interested, I’m still not understanding how ReScript makes async code easier or cleaner compared to js/typescript async/await

please explain.

1 Like

What you see is what you get, the standard way to deal with promises in ReScript is with the provided functions. Yes, it doesn’t look as nice as async/await syntax sugar–but it gets the job done, and syntax sugars have their downsides as well. ReScript focus is on providing a fast compiler with a strong static type system and good-looking JS output. People who use it are primarily interested in that.

1 Like

Unless we have let binds of sorts, I still get nested promises. That or I extract each promise handler into a named function so at least the promise chain becomes easier to read.

3 Likes