Is f1()->f2() always a type error?

As a beginner I got stuck on this for a long time while experimenting with external bindings. I though I was misunderstanding external bindings when in fact I was misunderstanding something that looks so simple. (not the binding code below, just a minimal example)

This works

let startAt = () => 1
let plus1 = x => x + 1
let end = startAt()->plus

But this results in an error

let startAt = () => 1
let plus1 = x => x + 1
let end = startAt()->plus1() // It only accepts 1 argument; here, it's called with more.

What is lurking here? Is something else being passed?

It just doesn’t seem consistent that

let f = (x,y) => x+y
1->f(2) // OK

But

let f = (x) => x+1
1->f() // BAD
1 Like

Hi @kswope

In ReScript () is called unit. Unit would be helpful in functions which accept Optional Labeled Arguments
So

startAt()->plus1()

is same as

plus1( startAt(), () )

The above code throws an error since plus1 accepts a single argument, but two were being passed to it.

startAt()->plus does not throw an error because it is same as plus( startAt() ).

4 Likes

Something else that may help this make sense: there are no zero-argument functions in ReScript. f() is really just a special syntax for f(()), which is a function which takes one () unit argument.

When you write a->f(), the syntax transform roughly goes like this:

1. a->f()
  2. a->f(())
  3. f(a, ())

Which brings us to the type error.

6 Likes

I need closure on the original question

Is f1()->f2() always a type error?

I hoping yes. “->” will always take the output of f1(), even if its (), and “unshift” it into the arguments of f2, including the hidden () of f2. But I can’t help thinking there’s some deeper rules going on here, or hidden sugar. Like in the Curried functions section here

It’s possible for it to not be a type error if f2 accepts two arguments and the second argument is unit ().

let f1 = () => 1
let f2 = (a, ()) => a + 1