Is reScript used in production?

i know its really new lang still, ofc whoever used reason in production has probably swiched over to reScript but besides that.

just wondering about the job market.

i’ll probably start learning it when i’ll begin my final year project.

2 Likes

I use it but I don’t have any developers on my team anymore.
But if I was a tech lead again I would for sure champion ReScript

4 Likes

I think it does not matter if ReScript itself is widely used in the industry.
If you learn ReScript, a step into OCaml, F#, or any statically typed functional language really, will be easier. Also the differences between Reason and ReScript can be learned in a day.

That being said, we have three Reason projects in production which we have yet to convert to ReScript. If we started a new project, however, I am sure we would already use ReScript there.

2 Likes

I have two ReasonML projects in production, one using Reason+js_of_ocaml and the other Reason+ReScript. We will convert the second (our collaboration project) to ReScript syntax some time after infix operators are added, and the long-term plan is to expand it’s use across all of TinyMCE.

I talk about why we use it in this blog post:

2 Likes

thanks everyone.

the next lang iam planing to learn would be rust ofc.
think it does have so FP but dont think its the main focus, not sure.

does rescript react works with tailwind?
not that i know tailwind yet, just wondering.

Rust is functional enough that you can get in faster if you come from ReScript or the like. It has ADTs, pattern-matching, immutability by default, modules, closures and Options instead of nulls.

Tailwind works with ReScript as well as with JS I suppose. It is even used in rescript-lang.org.

3 Likes