Private NPM package in rescript with support for TypeScript and optionally vanilla JS

Hello rescript community!

I’m a rescript beginner but I have quite some experience with TypeScript (mostly Angular but also some React). I came here after being introduced to the language by an ex colleague and I thought to try it out in a small library to be consumed by my existing Angular app. And maybe then after that move on to writing React apps in rescript as well.

So the rescript app would be a GraphQL client that uses @reasonml-community/graphql-ppx to generate the necessary client code from a GQL schema that I will then wrap and expose an API to use by my Angular app. It will expose this API with TypeScript types.

So far I’ve checked out genType and that doesn’t quite do it. I have used yarn link to use my lib in my other project and even though it can find the *.gen.ts files (through import { SomeAPI_fetchSomeResource } from 'my-rescript-client/src/SomeAPI.gen') it isn’t bundled properly. This made me think that this setup usually is meant to be used when you have rescript and TypeScript code living in the same project.

Because of that, the examples I’ve seen so far hasn’t quite fit what I need, from what I understand. While they have used rescript inside their typescript projects but I am trying to expose an API through an NPM package. I will consume this library through GitHub though, so I will not publish it.