ReScript equivalent of IO in Scala/Haskell/Other

I’m new to ReScript (and I really like what I’m seeing!), and also a relative novice with FP, but I’ve recently been spending time trying to deepen my understanding of FP concepts. Some of what I’ve been looking at recently uses examples in Scala, so I’ve recently been reading about the IO type for dealing with side effects. Is there an equivalent mechanism (or technique) in ReScript?

2 Likes

I’ll let others answer your question, but if my interests were in trying out something like an IO type in a setting like ReScript, I would start with using Elm and then experiment with ReScript after that.

My personal understanding of ReScript is “a better TypeScript, with an emphasis on functions over classes, for Javascript developers”. Some of that emphasis on functions will result in libraries that focus on using stronger error checking.

Purescript, Elm, Scalajs + cats/zio, reflex-frp and other haskell based approaches, and some libraries within JSOO, focus more on pure functional programming.

4 Likes

In ReScript the emphasis is on pragmatic typed FP for shipping products. So there is less emphasis on IO and related ‘category theory’-based techniques. But there are third-party libraries based on those techniques, e.g. https://reazen.github.io/relude/

3 Likes

I took a quick stab at porting relude to rescript last night. Didn’t get too far before I figured out that infix operators aren’t available right now so that may not be an option near term?

Ony two days into rescript myself though so may be more to it.

A

1 Like

True, custom operators are not really usable in ReScript right now.

1 Like