Rescript-react component re-render question

Hi all!

I’m hunting a tricky bug and I think I need to verify some assumptions I had made that may be really wrong. I’m a ReScript beginner and unfortunately pretty lousy at JS and TS as well… Starting with a first question and seeing where that leads.

1. I assumed that the make function of a rescript-react component would NOT be called if the components (record) props would succeed (“referential”) equality tests with the previously passed prop values.

The reason I’m asking this is that it seems to me like the make function is getting called in my code despite it to me really looking like I’m passing prop values that should be equal to the previous ones.

Is 1) a correct or incorrect assumption?

Thanks!

Please post the code in question.

1 Like

IIRC, React did behave that way at one point, but it doesnt anymore. Any change of state in one component will rerender all of its descendants recursively, and then leaves it to vdom diff to find changes. You can add some bounds on this with React.memo

1 Like

Thanks for offering to review code! I don’t have an isolated and minimized example ready (it’s part of a big jumbled mess of work in progress at the moment as things often are when experimenting) and I believe that @mouton answered the question and I now think I have a theory of what the bug is. Thank you all the same! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks so much, that’s a great link! I read through some of it and will read all of it later tonight, what a superb resource. I also checked out the React memo docs at memo – React and they expanded on it even more.