Samples for global state like in Elm in Rescript and React

I know functional programming and written production software in Ocaml, F# and ELM. I have no previous experience of React and I do not understand how it works internally. I have experience from other JS frameworks and I understand how Elm works…

I have got my ReasonML samples up and running and everything is fine.

I am looking for samples where I have a global state in a well-organized manner. To me the whole idea of local state per component is really strange. I can accept a local state for like input fields etc, but that is more like temp state while editing.

1 Like

Do you have a specific example of a piece of global state? Might be easier to give an example with a concrete example.

The ReScript-React docs have a note that you need to first understand how React works (at least on the surface), before you can be comfortable with ReScript-React. I really recommend working through the React guide, as it will really give you a good feel for how applications should be put together. Especially pay attention to the chapter on Lifting State Up, which deals with sharing state across components.

You are hitting the nail on the head here. It’s the primary difference between something like React and the Elm style. In Elm, the state is global, whereas you can have locally defined state in React components. In practice, you often lift state upward in React, so you end up sitting with a “global” state of sorts, and then you pass down, much like you would in Elm.