Why can't/doesn't ReScript infer the method I want to use?

Consider the following:

module Cat =
{
    type t = { meow: bool }
    let makeSound = t => t.meow ? "meow" : "purr"
}

module Dog =
{
    type t = { bark: bool }
    let makeSound = t => t.bark ? "bark" : "whine"
}

open Cat
open Dog

/* Compiler correctly infers the following types */
let cat = { meow: true }
let dog = { bark: true }

/* Compiler has no idea what I want to do */
let a = cat->makeSound
let b = dog->makeSound

I’m a JS/TS dev that wants the best of both worlds ie. type safety without verbosity, so I’m curious to know why exactly I am forced to always explicitly prepend function calls with the module from which they come when at least in scenarios like this, it ‘should’ be easily inferable from the type of the parameter and the methods in scope. Obviously I’m a beginner, but it would be nice to know why this sort of ergonomic is not available to me so it doesn’t become a big bugbear. This is a particular concern for the popular primitive/array/list/etc functions which I’m of course accustomed to using without explicitly defining where map/filter/etc come from.

I understand my confusion around this is probably a lack of understanding regarding some sort of fundamental nominal type system concept or something, but nonetheless that’s what I’m curious about. I want to be able to make my program work without having to type Belt.Array.map etc dozens of times over and over again in all my files if I can avoid it.

There are some trade off here.
E.g, it is not always clear that the type of cat is already known. So the typing of cat->xx need some ad-hoc rules