Form Library Bindings

First I would like to say thank you to anyone who has put in time on this language.
I love the website and the documentation is great.

I am struggling with handling forms nicely. I found this library https://github.com/rescriptbr/reform
however, I am a bit afraid of the ppx. Should I be?

I tried binding to react-hook-forms but spun my wheels for an hour and then gave up.

I thought I would take a look at how elm does it for inspiration. I am not very good with elm but it looks like the events are messages and that all plays into elms runtime somehow which is out of my reach for now.

I am a beginner when it comes to this typed functional language stuff and I still have little to no intuition when it comes to structuring my programs.

Thoughts on dealing with forms in rescript?

One very simple way is to use HTML 5 forms validation: Client-side form validation - Learn web development | MDN

Modern HTML has pretty good form validation capabilities. You don’t actually need to do it in React at all. You can enforce constraints like ‘this field is required’, ‘this field must be a whole number’, ‘this field must be an email address’, and so on.

If you need more programmatic access, you can use the FormData API to access the contents of the form for more fine-grained tuning before submission: https://github.com/tinymce/rescript-webapi/blob/main/src/Webapi/Webapi__FormData.resi

HTML5 Form validation is not satisfy UX requirements in most our case. like:

• validate on blur
  • validate based on another field
  • custom validate rule
  • variadic form field

The PPX is definitely additional complexity but I wouldn’t say it’s anything to be scared of, the transform is actually quite simple. You can also skip the ppx and write the lenses by hand if you want

See an example of the transform here: https://github.com/Astrocoders/lenses-ppx#watch