My ever-growing rescript article series

I am writing a series of articles on writing a new rescript single-page-app from scratch. I’m brand new to the language and was mostly just documenting the gotchas I encountered as I went along. Thought it might be useful both to other newcomers and to those of you trying to improve the onboarding experience for such newcomers.

22 Likes

I’ve written a sequel article. There are four more articles in the pipeline and I’m still writing…

8 Likes

And once again, here’s the third article in the series:

7 Likes

I’m really enjoying these. I’m wondering if it would be worth changing just the 1st level bullets to be paragraphs? I think it would be easier to read, save more horizontal space, and still preserve the “stream of consciousness” style of the articles which I think works well.

Thanks for the feedback. I’ve been experimenting with this style of writing and have had my doubts about it. The truth is I have a lot of content I want to push out and a limited time to do it (I’m between jobs), so I’ve been pushing for quantity over quality. In a way, these are just an outline for a much more in-depth project (possibly a book) if I get the time.

That said, I think I’ll adjust the format for future articles. My blog theme is kinda messing with spacing (and syntax highlighting) and I don’t like it. I have quite a few articles queued up in this style, but I’ll switch for new ones.

2 Likes

Great work on these articles.

+1 to removing bullets. I often read on mobile and the bullets take significant screen space, especially when nested.

For example:

And then further down in the article:

Thanks.

2 Likes

Ouch! That’s enough justification to rewrite them all. Probably won’t take me too long, hang tight. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

First article has been debulleted. Will do the others over the weekend. Thanks for reading and the feedback!

4 Likes

Have finished engishizing the other two articles. Working on the next one already.