Newbie experience: Bitten by curry

I am in favour of automatic curry but today, as a newbie, I have been bitten by it :sweat_smile:

Had this code:

let fileArg = program.args[0]
  let fileToMove = switch fileArg {
  | Some(path) => Node.Path.resolve(path)
  | _ => {
      Js.log(Chalk.red(`No file specified. Please provide a file name to move`))
      Node.Process.exit(1)
    }
  }

Which was compiling to very weird JS with an unneeded function wrap:

var fileArg = Caml_array.get(program.args, 0);
  var fileToMove = fileArg !== undefined ? (function (param) {
        return Path.resolve(fileArg, param);
      }) : (console.log(Chalk.red("No file specified. Please provide a file name to move")), Process.exit(1));

And I was wondering… why??
Because Path.resolve expects TWO strings (just noticed the function signature). I am not sure why because the node function is variadic and the single string usage is the most common for me, but I guess I am not the majority :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:.

Just wanted to share my experience so it may help others in a similar situation (newbies not understanding some weird output)

1 Like

As a side note, I had to write my own binding so I can use the single argument version:

@module("path") external resolve: string => string = "resolve"

Not sure why the built in buildings do not allow this usage and have instead a resolve2 function for the two inputs scenario.

This should probably have been a type error. What are the type signatures of Node.Path.resolve and Node.Process.exit used in the original code? I.e., specifically which binding library are you using?

I don’t blame you but this reminds me of this image (props to my buddy justin).