Using Rescript with Preact?

Is it possible to write bindings for Preact to work with Rescript? Since the React bindings are a library and not built into the language it seems like this would be doable.

I’m new to Rescript, so let me anyone would like more details about my question.

This is not possible because the ReScript compiler hasn’t option for customizing jsx factory yet.

A possible option for now is to use preact compat.

Technically it’s possible if you map your Preact bindings to the React namespace and don’t include rescript-react in your deps. :raising_hand_man:

Not sure how ergonomic it will be on the long run though, and it’s probably confusing having React instead of Preact.

Just got interested in rescript.

I would definitely love to have support for preact to reduce my bundle size and improving performance. In the vast majority of cases I can use it as a drop in replacement, and even when using react itself preact signals are almost always a better abstraction than react hooks and contexts.

I’m using Rescript + Preact at work and we did the alias thing for react->preact. I just followed preact’s guide to aliasing on their documentation

Seems to have worked with no other differences on the Rescript side, though haven’t tried signals yet. Reducers are too easy in rescript

and it’s probably confusing having React instead of Preact.

// bindings/Preact.res
include React

:stuck_out_tongue:

6 Likes

Okay, what do you do to make it alias in Rescripts build system? Is there some config file where you tell it to grab Preact instead of react ? I’m looking at the interop between rescript and javascript build systems right now.

It depends on which build system you’re using, the preact docs have a specific section with the different methods.

Aliasing React to Preact | Preact: Fast 3kb React alternative with the same ES6 API. Components & Virtual DOM. (preactjs.com)